Sushi 101: A Beginner’s Guide to Understanding Different Types of Sushi

Return to all
New Project 2023 04 13T165442.520 1

Sushi 101: A Beginner’s Guide to Understanding Different Types of Sushi


Welcome to Masuta Japanese Fusion Restaurant, where we are passionate about serving the finest and most authentic sushi. If you’re new to sushi or looking to expand your knowledge, this comprehensive guide will introduce you to the different types of sushi, their characteristics, and how to enjoy them. Join us on a journey to explore the art and flavors of sushi!

Types of Sushi:

  1. Nigiri:
  • Nigiri is a classic type of sushi made with a small mound of vinegared rice and topped with a slice of raw or cooked fish or seafood.
  • The fish used in nigiri should be incredibly fresh and of high quality, as it is the star of the dish.
  • Nigiri is typically served with a dab of wasabi between the rice and the fish, and may also be accompanied by a thin strip of nori (seaweed).
  • Popular fish choices for nigiri include tuna, salmon, yellowtail, and shrimp.
  • Nigiri is typically eaten with your fingers or chopsticks and can be dipped into soy sauce and enjoyed in one bite.
  1. Sashimi:
  • Sashimi is not technically sushi, as it does not contain rice, but it is often served alongside sushi and is a must-try for seafood lovers.
  • Sashimi consists of thin slices of raw fish or seafood, often arranged artfully on a plate.
  • The fish used in sashimi should be incredibly fresh and of high quality, as it is eaten raw and relies on its natural flavors.
  • Sashimi is usually served with soy sauce, wasabi, and pickled ginger, and can be eaten with chopsticks or by picking up the slices with your fingers.
  1. Maki:
  • Maki is sushi that is rolled using a bamboo mat called a makisu and typically consists of rice, fish or vegetables, and nori (seaweed).
  • There are various types of maki, including hosomaki (thin rolls), futomaki (thick rolls), and uramaki (inside-out rolls).
  • Popular maki options include California roll (with crab, avocado, and cucumber), spicy tuna roll (with tuna and spicy mayo), and rainbow roll (with various fish and avocado).
  • Maki is usually sliced into bite-sized pieces and can be eaten with chopsticks or with your fingers.
  1. Temaki:
  • Temaki, also known as hand rolls, are cone-shaped sushi rolls that are made by hand and eaten like a burrito.
  • Temaki typically contains rice, fish or seafood, vegetables, and nori, and is rolled into a cone shape with the nori on the outside.
  • Temaki is a fun and interactive way to enjoy sushi, as you can customize each roll to your liking and eat it with your hands.
  1. Inari:
  • Inari sushi is a type of sushi that consists of a pouch made of fried tofu filled with sushi rice.
  • The tofu pouch is usually sweetened and marinated, giving it a unique and slightly sweet flavor.
  • Inari sushi is often served as a vegetarian option and can be enjoyed as a standalone dish or as part of a sushi platter.


We hope this comprehensive guide to understanding different types of sushi has provided you with a deeper appreciation for the art and flavors of sushi. At Masuta Japanese Fusion Restaurant, we take pride in offering a wide variety of sushi options for you to explore and enjoy. Whether you’re a sushi newbie or a seasoned sushi enthusiast, we invite you to come and experience the delicious flavors and artistry of our sushi creations.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *